Rita Downing

Female pic

Rita Downing Joined the Settlement Players in 1974 and has credits spanning 27 years. Rita was involved in around 50 productions. Appearing on stage for 28 productions, and stage managing on 15 occasions.

Acting Credits

Alice, Lady Miller in Breath of Spring , February 1974
Peasant Woman in Mother Courage and her Children, November 1975
Mrs Higgins in Pygmalion, February 1976
Judith Bliss in Hay Fever, May 1976
Lady Shelia Boothroyd in Lloyd George knew my father, May 1977
Lady Benbow in Thark, November 1980
Duchess of Berwick in Lady Windermere’s Fan, November 1978
The Duchess of Canterbury in Two Gentlemen of Soho, April 1979
Edith Harnham in The Day after the Fair, May 1980
Anna-Mary Conklin in Come into The Garden Maud, April 1981
Delia Price in The Ghost Train, February 1982
Emily Tomb in A Tomb with a view, November 1982
Wife in After Eight-The Waiting Room; Countdown; Sunday Costs Five Pesos, November 1983
Louise Garrad in Love from a Stranger, February 1984
Delia in Bedroom Farce, November 1984
Alice in Midsummer Mink, February 1986
Mrs Sutton in Anna of the five towns, June 1986
Mrs Reece in The Farndale Avenue Housing Estate Townswomens Guild Dramatic Society Murder Mystery, February 1987
Michelle Flanders in Fingers, February 1988
Lady Arabella in Mary Thorne, May 1989
Madam, Cuckoo’s Aunt in Cuckoo, November 1990
Unknown Role in The Anastasia File, February 1990
Doris in Shop for charity, June 1990
Mrs Reece in The Haunted Through Lounge and recessed dining nook at Farndale Castle, May 1991
Sybil Walling in Brush with a body, February 1993
Mrs Bouncer in Box & Cox (one act), May 1993
Karen Nash in Plaza Suite, May 1994
Fairy in Jack and the Ogre, January 1996
Mustard Seed in  Singing in the Wilderness, April 2000

Technical credits


A Woman of No Importance, November 1993


And so to bed , February 1975
Candida, May 1984
A Sting in the Tale, May 1998
Haywire, May 2001


The Waltz of the Toreadors, November 1985

Stage Manager

All’s Well That Ends Well, November 1981
Billy Liar May 1982
Hedda Gabler, February 1985
Night must fall, November 1986
Blithe Spirit, November 1988
Ten Times Table, November 1989
Home at Seven, February 1991
Pink String and Sealing Wax, November 1991
Living together, June 1992
The Shaughraun, November 1992
The Small hours, February 1994
The Miser, November 1994
Lord Arthur Savile’s Crime, February 1995
Dancing at Lughnasa, November 1995
Natural Causes, May 1996
Season’s Greetings, November 1996